Faux granite countertops 

Since it was a “snow day” today, I had off work… which never happens on a Saturday. I decided to do a diy home project…. & I am in LOVE! 

Ever want those granite or marble looking kitchen counter tops without the price tag? 

Whole project cost: $20! 

Yep, $20!


I started off with a quart of black matte acrylic paint. Roughly painted all countertops & let it dry for about 2 hours. 

I then needed one of those rough coral sponges but didn’t have one on hand so I remembered back in art class in middle school to get texture we used crinkled up Saran wrap! Ta-dah!

I then got samples of beige and silver paint from my local Home Depot! These are eggshell finish! 

I took a paper plate and poured some of the sample beige paint onto it and crinkled up my Saran Wrap and started dabbing it all over the countertop! 

I let the beige dry and then did the same thing with silver! 

I was able to redress my counters within a hour of finishing! You could always go over the top with a clear coat to protect it:)

Super easy & super cheap! 

Leave a comment